## EARNED SICK LEAVE<br/>MEDDDis All NJ Employers<br/>From: NJ Department of LaborImage: Distribution of the second secon

Earned Sick Leave is now the law in New Jersey. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development is here to answer questions, provide information, and help employers comply.

NJ businesses of all sizes are required to provide full-time, part-time, and temporary employees with up to 40 hours of paid sick time per year. Workers can use the time to care for themselves or a family member, and the definition of family is broad. Acceptable uses include:

- for physical or mental health or injury, or preventive care
- to cope with domestic or sexual violence
- to attend a school meeting for the employee's child

Employees accrue an hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked, or employers can provide the 40 hours up front. Unused sick time carries over to the next year or the employer can buy it back from the employee.

It's against the law to retaliate against an employee for using sick leave, to require them to find a replacement for their shift, or to ask for documentation unless it's for more than 3 consecutive days. The employee's health care provider does not need to specify the reason for leave.

Employers must provide the notice of employee rights to workers and post it. There are important record-keeping requirements under the law. For more info see **nj.gov/labor/earnedsick**.

Questions? Call NJDOL at 609-292-2305 between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm.

VIW-568 (1/19)

## EARNED SICK LEAVE

To: All NJ Employers From: NJ Department of Labor



Earned Sick Leave is now the law in New Jersey. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development is here to answer questions, provide information, and help employers comply.

NJ businesses of all sizes are required to provide full-time, part-time, and temporary employees with up to 40 hours of paid sick time per year. Workers can use the time to care for themselves or a family member, and the definition of family is broad. Acceptable uses include:

- for physical or mental health or injury, or preventive care
- to cope with domestic or sexual violence
- to attend a school meeting for the employee's child

Employees accrue an hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked, or employers can provide the 40 hours up front. Unused sick time carries over to the next year or the employer can buy it back from the employee.

It's against the law to retaliate against an employee for using sick leave, to require them to find a replacement for their shift, or to ask for documentation unless it's for more than 3 consecutive days. The employee's health care provider does not need to specify the reason for leave.

Employers must provide the notice of employee rights to workers and post it. There are important record-keeping requirements under the law. For more info see **nj.gov/labor/earnedsick**.